Before you can register your vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virginia you must complete a VA State Safety inspection. Vehicle safety inspections are performed by certified VA State Emissions and Inspection technicians at a state approved Inspection Center like Burke Centre Automotive. A customary inspection takes less than an hour and involves testing standard safety features and mechanical functions. The vehicle inspection cost is set by law at $12 for motorcycles and $16 for all passenger vehicles, SUVs, pickup trucks, trailers, and motorhomes.
The VA state vehicle inspection is designed to ensure your vehicle operates flawlessly and is completely safe to drive. Should the inspector find any issues you have 15 days to remedy the problems, and re-inspection costs one dollar.
While the VA state safety inspection process is not complicated, there may be specific questions you have pertaining to your own vehicles. For additional information regarding common topics such as neon lights, bumper heights, trailers, high-efficiency low-emission vehicles, and window tinting, to name but a few, check the Virginia State Police car inspection FAQ’s at The Motor Vehicle Laws of Virginia, or look for the blue and white VA state safety inspection sign designating Burke Centre Automotive as your local approved state car inspection center. Our trained, ASE-certified inspectors can answer all your questions, complete an efficient and thorough car inspection, and get you safely back on the road in no time.
Vehicles are the single greatest source of pollutants in Northern Virginia. To improve air quality, mandatory Virginia vehicle emissions testing is required if you have a vehicle registered in any of the following Northern Virginia program area localities designated by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VA DEQ):
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) notifies all vehicle owners whether or not emissions testing will be required in order to renew their vehicle’s operating registration. New vehicles being titled for the first time do not need emissions inspection for the first two-year registration period. Other motor vehicles exempt from emissions inspections include motorcycles, vehicles more than 25 years old before January 1 of the current calendar year, diesel-powered vehicles, vehicles exclusively powered by clean fuel, vehicles being titled for the first time in Virginia with a Manufacturer’s Certification of Origin (MCO), and qualified hybrid motor vehicles.
If there are any unforeseen circumstances a one-month registration extension may be requested in person at a Virginia DMV Customer Service Center or DMV Select locations. Otherwise, your Virginia emissions inspection costs $28.00 and is valid for two years.
When your vehicle is inspected at the state-approved VA Emissions Inspection Center at Burke Center Automotive your DMV vehicle record is automatically updated. Should your vehicle require any necessary repair or service, the ASE-certified master auto technicians at Burke Centre Automotive are well-equipped to serve your needs and get you safely back on the road in no time.